I ordered something from PC
Connection yesterday. Their site is awesome -- quick and easy to get
around. The ordering process was quick safe and I'm sure very secure. I have no
problems with that.
However, since I was a dummy and typed in my credit card info off the top of
my head, I did get a number wrong. So they sent me an email about it.
I originally deleted the email along with all of my other spam. It was from a
girls' name (@pcconnection.com but I didn't notice that quickly enough) and the
subject said Order ######## (with the real number in there) like so very many
spam emails that come through the pipe.
This is what the email looks like (except I have masked the name of the
sender as well as what might be the direct line etc...)
--------------------------------
We are ready to ship your order but the credit card
has declined. Please call us at the number below between 9am and 1am
Eastern Time. Thank you,
The name is in "reply blue" text as is half of the fax #. The hyperlink
is to file:\\pcconnection.com, which of
course fails. Therefore you would resort to calling the phone #. The phone # is
not the same as the phone # on the website. So I came to the conclusion that my
email and order # were scraped from somewhere along the pipe and not secured as
I'm sure the credit card info was and they were luring me to call a different
phone # to give my credit card details to god knows who!
I did call the phone # on the website and got my cc cleared up but had a long
chat with a customer service rep about the fact that most professionals I know
would advise everyone and anyone to ignore such an email and they should really
reconsider how they communicate with their clients about stuff like this.
Sheesh!
http://www.AcehAid.org